Like Mike (2002)

Movie Overview:

This was my favorite movie back then, I was introduced to basketball, and I love the game so much, I tried to search for good basketball movies to watch, and there tons of them, but most of them were very unhealthy for my age, check out He Got Game, you will know what I’m talking about. Finally I came to my senses and able to located this movie. I did know some on the alternative cover, Allen Iverson, and Chris Webber, guiltily not the rest, which I happened to know them pretty well now. Not much I could say about the rest of the interesting factors, mostly young actors that is famous now, Bow Wow, Brenda Song of Disney, and Johnathan Lipnicki of Stuart Little.

Plot Overview:

Calvin and his friends, who all live an in orphanage, find old shoes with the faded letters MJ connected to a powerline. One stormy night, they go to get the shoes when Calvin and the shoes are struck by lightning. Calvin now has unbelievable basketball powers and has the chance to play for the NBA

Movie Review:

I love it then, and I love it now. There is nothing much i can say about this movie, It is entertaining and a great family movie. The story is simple, not too hard too understand, and the basketball elements of this movie is out of this world. All of the dunking, and play making created my Bow Wow really enhanced this movie up. Despite that, it make the story seem uninteresting, most basketball player watching this movie will not care much about the story, they rather see the NBA player got their butt kick by a little kid, so that is a lost. The NBA players, some of them can act, some can’t, Jason Kidd is good, Dirk is funny, Vince Carter is great, the others is OK. The actors do a well done job, not much I could say, it general acting, not much effort needed. The uses of blue screen, camera shots and angle really make Bow Wow look good in basketball. All the dunk is nicely done, It was a blast watching this movie.

Not many scenes could be picked out to be my favorites scenes. All the dunking really caught my attention, I scream out loud everytime he dunk it down, it’s not really realistic, but who cares. The one scene that I love so much is when Dirk Nowitzki ask Calvin for an autograph, and say that it’s for his niece, Dirk, I’m pretty sure they did all of this before the official game begin. because after a basketball game these guy can be pretty tense, and don’t want to talk to anyone. The last scene was nice, a typical family movie ending but it close out the movie they way it should. Do not trust the IMDB rating system, they’re stupid, this movie was great.

MY RATE: 8/10

 

Leave a Reply

