Jackie Chan Marathon: Snake in the Eagle’s Shadow (1978)

posterOverview of Marathon:

Welcome to the first entry of my Jackie Chan movies marathon. I was always a big fan of Jackie Chan, mostly because I respect his hard work ethic, and his devotion to the art of Chinese  movie. I had followed him since I was little, watching a lot of his movies, and he was one of the biggest childhood heroes of mine. His merge with the American movie industry has made him what he is today, an  icon in movie. In this marathon, I will try to review all of the Jackie Chan movie I watched on VHS or DVD. I would forewarn that some movies will not be review because I can’t find it anywhere.

Movie Overview:

This is a very old movie judging by the covers, and the young Jackie Chan paste-up picture. I can’t really say that anything else attracted me to buy this movie other than Jackie Chan. The cover needed for effort in my point of view. Chinese movie in the 70’s are better than the American one in my mind, but they could learned a thing or two from America about advertising their movie. About the cast, one particular actor that is not Jackie Chan stand out to me was  the legendary Siu Tien Yuen. This old man was the bomb back in the old Chinese Opera movies produced by Shaw Brothers. I would not expected much from this movie. It probably will just be a typical Chinese kung-fu movie.

Plot Overview: Chien Fu (Jackie Chan9 is a boy who is used as a janitor at his kung-fu school. He can’t fight and is alwaysjackoe getting bullied by the teachers and pupils. One day an old man helps Chien train in an art of kung-fu called the ‘ Snake’s Fist ‘. Chien Fu doesn’t get bullied again. Then he creates his own style and mixes it with the Snake’s Fist. His style is based on the movement and actions of a cat. One day the old man is in trouble by a man who does ‘ The Eagle’s Claw’ and Jackie helps the old man.

Movie Review: Being a very retrospect person, I was having a very good time watching this movie. The movie was just a typical Chinese martial art movie without the taste of Jackie Chan style yet. This is just another typical Shaw Brothers movie. The acting was just normal for people who followed this genre for a long time, Chinese Kung Fu movie that is. The good thing I would say about this movie is that it had a stable plot, with a logical chronologic build-up to the end. Most people wouldn’t expect this back then. Most old movies like this had very weak plots and it can bored a lot of people. The choreographic was adequate, I wouldn’t say it was excellent, because It didn’t stand out from the typical Kung Fu movie.   This is an average movie with nice choreography, and a good plot. The use of sound effect was stocked, and it felt like a stereotype fighting movie, which is fine since the movie was in the era of “digital sound”. If I had to take my pick, I would say the ending was my favorite scene. Jackie Chan came to his sense and discovered the art of the snake, and the defeat the eagle claw guy. Predictable! But nice. In contrast I do think this movie could had done a lot better with the choreography, I’m being a little picky, but they should had add more fighting scenes to the movie, since most people back then came for that anyway. Overall! I like this, It’s an instant classic, and if you’re Jackie Chan fan, go watch this!

MY RATE: 7/10

Leave a Reply

